Contact Information

Email this expert

Specialties & Experience

General Specialties: Chemistry & Chemicals and Chemical Engineering

Specialty Focus: polymer, rubber, block copolymer, lithography, photoresist, semiconductor, microelectromechanical system (MEMS), microfabrication, nanotechnology, nanofabrication, molecular modeling, graphene

Education: PhD in Chemical Engineering, The University of Texas at Austin; MS in Chemical Engineering, The University of Texas at Austin; BS in Chemical Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology

Years in Practice: 21

Number of Times Deposed/Testified in Last 4 Yrs: 2

Additional Information

Dr. Clifford L. Henderson is the Department Chair of the Department of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering at the University of South Florida, joining USF in 2017 after spending the prior 19 years as a faulty member at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He received his Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering with Highest Honors from the Georgia Institute of Technology and his Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy in Chemical Engineering from The University of Texas at Austin. Dr. Henderson’s research focuses on problems at the intersection of chemical engineering, organic and polymeric materials science and engineering, and micro- and nanotechnology in a variety of application areas including microelectronic and MEMS devices, semiconductor and integrated circuit fabrication, solar energy and energy storage, chemical separations, and biotechnology. Professor Henderson has extensive experience in polymer science and technology including experience in polymer design and synthesis, characterization, processing. He has authored more than 250 publications and given more than 300 presentations at national and international conferences. Dr. Henderson also has previously served as the Functional Materials Program Director in the CMMI Division at the National Science Foundation. He has received numerous awards and recognition for his research and service work including an NSF CAREER Award, the inaugural Intel/STC Outstanding Lithography Researcher Award in 2012, and was named a Fellow of the International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE) in 2010, a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in 2017, and a Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) in 2018. He serves in a variety of national leadership roles including being a member of the Executive Board of the Programming Committee and a member of the Career and Education operating Council of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.